Two Campaign/Election Themed Videos

October 29, 2008 at 2:32 pm (frightening things, movies/video/clips, neat things, politics) (, , , , )

The first is via Alas, A Blog, and is very cute.

Couldn’t catch most of the lyrics, but I’m sure it’s going to be stuck in my head for weeks regardless.

The second video, via Boing Boing, is an eerie and telling montage of the three presidential debates.

Did watching the 2nd and 3rd debates give you a feeling of déjà vu? This montage of synced-up footage from all three presidential debates confirms our deep-seated belief that every debate was exactly the same.

Watch it here.

2 Comments

  1. ballgame said,

    The synchronized debating was very funny but in a tragic sort of way. I really felt sorry for the candidates who have to repeat themselves hundreds of times, yet come across as sincere each time. The constant repetition might seem phony to us, but it’s really an important and effective way of establishing the identity of their campaigns, particularly to the low information voter who probably comprise a disproportionate number of the undecided (and potentially persuadable) portion of the electorate.

    There was a pretty good Robert Redford movie back in the early 1970s called The Candidate which explored this phenomenon (trailer). It’s been a long time since I saw it and I don’t know how well it’s aged, but it might be worth checking out.

  2. Emily said,

    Totally. It made me sad to see that those drilled talking points and practiced sentiments are what the debates boil down to essentially, that we can’t seem to move past that (and very annoyed when I was actually watching the debates), but I suppose you’re right in pointing out the practicality of the method. Sigh.

    And thanks for the recommendation. Maybe I’ll have my roommate add it to her netflix queue.

Comments are closed.

