Home

August 6, 2008 at 11:43 pm (administrative business, neat things)

Back from Ghana and a few days’ worth of traveling. The trip was fantastic and overwhelming. I saw, learned, and absorbed more than I’ll ever be able to reasonably process. I’m grateful to have gone with my cousin and his group of students from the University of Northern Texas in a program of its specific structure, for without him and his awesome ties to the Ewe community of eastern coastal Ghana, I never would have been invited to see the insides of private shrines, dance at traditional funerals, or met many of the interesting people that I did. I studied a bit of the Ewe dialect, learned various drum rhythms, and can now measure showers by the bucket. And all of that just scratches the surface.

I’m much too tired to continue now, but maybe as the experiences of the last few weeks begin to settle, I’ll share some thoughts about them. As for my immediate plans: pass out, tackle the 4,591 unread articles in my newsfeed in the morning, and play with the tiny fawn-colored French bulldog puppy that my mom surprised my brother and I with at the airport.

Oh, and visit with all my best friends, of course!

Hope you all had a fine few weeks as well. Glad to be back!

~Emily

4 Comments

  1. alexoriginalcashgift said,

    Great post Emily, I’ve heard alot of great things about a new company thats establishing a presence in West Africa Libra International Group. I know they are looking to connect with others with an interest in West Africa as well, worth looking into. This is their site http://www.LibraInternationalGroup.com

    Building, Investing, Solar Power, you name it

    N.K.

  2. Daisy said,

    the tiny fawn-colored French bulldog puppy

    YES.

    I knew it. That’s very exciting.

  3. Daisy said,

    Oh, and, of course, welcome home!

  4. Brendenator said,

    Just to let everyone else on the blog know, as I was reading this post I watched a green and black spider crawl out of Emily’s backpack and under her dresser.

    Brendenator

    P.S. Stop being tired and lets get to some fun Emmy.

Comments are closed.

