Ghana

July 13, 2008 at 12:41 am (administrative business, music, neat things)

Tomorrow, my younger brother and I begin a journey to Ghana to join a distant relative of ours who runs a music program there. From what I understand (and it’s not much!), he provides free lessons to the local children throughout the year, and invites around 20 college students from the U.S. to participate for 3-4 weeks in the summer. We’ll spend the majority of our time hand drumming, which is something I’ve never done.

We’re staying in a very rural village on the coast, which we’ll have to hike into. As you might have guessed by now, I will not be blogging during this time.

I have no idea what to expect from this trip, from Ghana, from this program. Undoubtedly, I’ll have much more to say when I’m back. In the meantime, keep Daisy company for me and join us in celebration of the completion of our second year here at Our Descent Into Madness! Our first post was July 14, 2006. It was about Hufu, The Healthy Human Flesh Alternative.

Love the next few weeks of your summer, and I’ll see ya early August.

~Emily

3 Comments

  1. Daran said,

    We’ll spend the majority of our time hand drumming, which is something I’ve never done.

    Excellent.

    I co-run a kids’ drumming band, for free thoughout the year. I’m in the picture, wearing the yellow tee-shirt, to the right.

  2. Daisy said,

    Daran: sweet.

    Emily: you will be missed.

    It’s really too bad they stopped making Hufu.

  3. Dan (Fitness) said,

    Best wishes on your journey!
    You will be missed indeed.

    (Enjoy the drumming!)

Comments are closed.

