Safta

June 18, 2008 at 4:12 pm (frightening things) ()

THINGS I WANT TO ASK WHILE I STILL CAN* (UNEDITED)

What is your favorite song?
Who was your closest friend?
What is your single favorite book?
Single favorite artist (in any medium)? Or piece of art?
Why did you marry him? Were you in love?
Did he break your heart? Did you break his?
Why didn’t you ever remarry?
Were you ever in love with anyone else?
In what city were you happiest?
What were the names of your grandmothers?
What decisions do you regret?
What decisions do you not regret at all?
What is the most important thing you have learned from life?
Do you believe in God? Has this changed over the years?
Do you believe in ghosts?
Do you believe in fate?
Do you know that I’m a lesbian? Do you care?
Do you care that my girlfriend isn’t Jewish?
Do you hate that I’m American?
What is your worst memory?
What is your best memory?
What pieces of knowledge do you most want me to pass on to your great-grandchildren?
What do you think is most important? Least important?
Whom do you think of at dusk while listening to sad music?
What do you dream about? What dreams, good or bad, do you remember?
In what language do you usually dream?
Have you ever had a supernatural experience?
Have you ever almost died?
What is the story of my mother’s birth?
What are the great recurring themes, images, or questions of your life?
What is the story you tell yourself? (about anything)
And what is your favorite flower?

* But probably will not. God forgive me.

10 Comments

  1. In response to Daisy’s queries. « Katkmeanders’s Weblog said,

    […] No Comments Daisy has asked some very thought provoking questions in her blog entry titled Safta here. I will answer the questions as best I can, if I seem evasive, it isn’t quite that, more […]

    This pingback led to a post that has been eaten by the machine; link removed at the author’s request.

  2. katkmeanders said,

    I gotta fix my post, it is BORKED! I dunno what went wrong, a large portion of it just went AWOL. *waaaa* It’ll reappear shortly.

  3. katkmeanders said,

    OK, I am getting *FITS* from WordPress right now, the edit post interface is *NOT* behaving as it should!!! I dunno when I’ll be able to post my response to this post. *sad*

  4. katkmeanders said,

    I may have to try rebooting, and see if that helps. *WHY* is it repeating the same block over and over, and *WHERE* did the missing block go?!!! *grumble* Wonder if they (WordPress) are doing maintaince or something?

  5. katkmeanders said,

    Drat! I’m not going to get this post fixed tonight. I don’t understand what is happening, but the interface is behaving *VERY* strangely. It jumps and skips up and down the page, and one minute the text feild is the size it should be, the next it is blowing the margins, and blocks of text are doubled that I didn’t paste, and blocks of text vanish. I don’t know what is going on, some weird glitch I guess. I hope it is fixed *SOON*! *grump*

  6. Daisy said,

    Okay, katk — looking forward to the post whenever you have it posted. I’ll check back for it.

    The questions aren’t general, actually, though, but very specifically for my grandmother. (Hence the title.)

  7. katkmeanders said,

    They can apply to others though? Why not ask your Grandmother some of the things, or would it be considered impertinent by her? The stories of our ancestors should be known, to varying degrees, I think. They explain family traditions, and family mindsets. *nod*

  8. Daisy said,

    Yes, the stories should be known. It’s hard to explain why it would be difficult to ask to someone who doesn’t know my grandmother. She’s… Austere. Intense.

  9. katkmeanders said,

    Ahhh, I see! I know what you mean. Still, take a deep breath, and plunge in, maybe one question/series per “session”? Explain to her if she chafes, that you crave your familial history, use some of my words in your own style if you want, but convey to her that it is something that is important to you, and she may acquiesce. *smile*

  10. My Replies to Daisy’s Queries « Katkmeanders’s Weblog said,

    […] No Comments Daisy has asked some very thought provoking questions in her blog entry titled Safta here. I will answer the questions as best I can, if I seem evasive, it isn’t quite that, more that I […]

Comments are closed.

