Tentacle Casting Jewelry

June 4, 2008 at 12:10 pm (amazing things, art) ()

From Boing Boing, check out this amazing Etsy store. It’s full of beautiful jewelery made from castings of octopus tentacles and suction cups. I suspect that many octopi were harmed in the making of the jewelry, but theoretically, these pieces could be made semi-ethically: cephalopods can regrow arms, after all.

Anyway, it’s gorgeous.

earrings

I would love some if it were so expensive. There are rings, earring, necklaces, and more.

8 Comments

  1. Tyler said,

    Wow! Nice find!

  2. unnikuttan said,

    looks expensive.

  3. Daran said,

    theoretically, these pieces could be made semi-ethically: cephalopods can regrow arms, after all.

    You can regrow your liver, so I guess it would be OK to chop lumps of it out to make into jewelry.

  4. Tyler said,

    Or you could make cast rubber cephalopods instead of using real ones evertime.

  5. Daisy said,

    That’s why I said “semi-” Daran. My intention was to point out that one doesn’t necessarily need to kills dozens of octopi, but could remove part of one tentacle of a single creature, which would be somewhat more ethical (though not entirely ethical, obviously). Similarly, I would rather that the liver-stealers of the world take part of one person’s liver and leave her alive than that they kill lots of people. Ideally, neither would happen, of course. But we are a very, very long way from inter-species equality; this person’s work is a minute drop in the blood bucket.

  6. Daran said,

    That’s why I said “semi-”

    I beg your pardon. I should have said “it would be semi-ethical to chop lumps of your liver out to make into jewelry”.

  7. Daisy said,

    Yeah, you should have. Glad we have that sorted out.

  8. Kim said,

    I found a bag of dried tenicles at an Asian fish market. You are suppose to eat them for a snack I suppose, but I would imagine one could make a mold with a few of them and munch on the leftovers. :)

Comments are closed.

