In Which This Blogger Encounters The World’s Most Beautiful Machine

May 17, 2008 at 11:17 am (amazing things, art, design/gadget lust)

Dear God! What a week!

First I found these great cameras. And now something so much better. So. Much. Better.

My uncle, upon hearing that I will be studying photography, very kindly offered to send me my late grandfather’s Rolleiflex: a gorgeous, fancy, medium-format camera, which I hadn’t known existed. And oh my God.

My mom brought it to me yesterday at my high school, where we were gathered for a dinner honoring my (nominal) graduating class. I opened it right then and there at the table and thought that I would faint.

saba-camera

saba-camera

saba-camera

I don’t have any more to say. It is unspeakably gorgeous and I can’t believe I get to use it. Thank you, saba.

8 Comments

  1. Miragh said,

    sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet

  2. Daisy said,

    Exactlyyyyyyy, hahaha

  3. Daran said,

    I had a camera like that, when I was a kid. It was much less complex though.

  4. Daisy said,

    Cool! I wonder which one it was. Did it look like any of these? It also could have been a Rolleicord.

  5. Daran said,

    Did it look like any of these?

    No, it only had one object lens. I don’t understand why these have two, unless one is just a huge viewfinder.

    The one I had bent the viewfinder image at 90 degrees, so that instead of putting it to your eye and looking through it, you held it at chest height and looked down. Needless to say, it was obsolete when I had it. (I’m not that old!). But these are basically what cameras looked like back then.

  6. Daisy said,

    It is a huge viewfinder, yeah. This one has that same looking-down system; it’s my favorite part.

    Twenty-five years older than me makes you the exact age of my parents, one generation off from my grandfather’s camera, but, of course, the exact generation of those cameras from the other post — which are as obsolete now as a Rollieflex was when you were kid. Perhaps my children will swoon over 6 megapixel digital cameras. Though then again, perhaps not — the whole charm of these old cameras is that they still actually work. The youngest one of the bunch I’ve blogged about, from 1974, is the only one that’s given out.

  7. Daran said,

    Twenty-five years older than me makes you the exact age of my parents

    “Old enough to be your dad”. Yeah, that make me feel so much better.

  8. Photos Taken Through The Viewfinders Of Old Cameras « Our Descent Into Madness said,

    […] what appears in the magical little world of an old fashioned viewfinder. Many old cameras, like that incredibly beautiful machine, the Rolleiflex, have a viewfinder in which one looks down to see the image projected onto a surface, like a piece […]

Comments are closed.

