And Another Beautiful Thing (A Machine To Predict The Weather)

May 17, 2008 at 4:39 pm (amazing things, design/gadget lust)

Okay, at this rate this is going to become a blog exclusively about the old, lovely, functional things I accumulate. I’ve acquired yet another magical item today: an antique, functional barometer. It’s beautiful, and I was so excited to discover that it works. We’ve had a rare rainy day today so I’ve been able to watch it shift over the last few hours as the weather cleared up.

barometer

The words there are Stormy, Rain, Change, Fair, and Very Dry, with the arrow correctly indicating “Fair” weather. When I picked it up today it was forecasting “Change,” which I found spooky. And as you can see, the middle there is just class: you can see into the little mechanism.

5 Comments

  1. Emily said,

    Well geez, you just keep raking them in!

  2. Daran said,

    Everytime you go “wow” about something that was commonplace when I was a kid, you make me feel really old.

  3. Brendenator said,

    Todays weather: BURRITO TIME! Lets see barometric pressure predict THAT!

  4. Daisy said,

    Daran — haha, oh no. I’m sorry. When were you a kid? I suspect it’s not so much that you’re old as that I’m extremely young, and easily affected.

  5. Daran said,

    When were you a kid?

    I’m twenty five years older than you.

Comments are closed.

