A Day Of Great Thrift-Shop Finds

May 13, 2008 at 7:37 pm (amazing things, design/gadget lust)

Today I accompanied my girlfriend to a series of thrift stores, as I often do. I usually wander around bored while she hunts for vintage clothes, but not today. Today, I found several wonderful things.

First of all, I came upon a basket of old cameras. Yes, a basket, overflowing. Out of the group I chose three. I bought a Fujica GE R from 1974, which doesn’t work, but is nonetheless beautiful, and whose parts will find some interesting use, I’m sure. Much more importantly, I found a lovely 1960 Minolta 16: a subminiature camera, one of the first cameras to be widely distributed amongst the laity for snapshot purposes. I haven’t shot with it yet, but I’m nearly certain it’s in perfect working order.

I also found a Honeywell Electric Eye, which I believe to be from the 1960s. It, too, is gorgeous and, as far as I can tell, as functional as when new.

I’m so excited to have all of them! The two that work will be a ton of fun to shoot with.

(I really like black and white photography, by the way; not sure I’ve ever blogged about that. I recently declared a major in photography, in fact.)

Here’s the Fujica:

fujica

The Minolta 16:

minolta16p

And the Honeywell EE:

honeywell

Relatedly, I found a very special hat. The back-story of the hat: I had a dream some months ago about a Jewish WWII pilot. It was a long and disturbing dream; the relevant detail is that, in every single scene, the pilot was wearing one of those old hats with the ears, and his aviator goggles, which were pushed up on his head when he wasn’t flying. The hat was dark leather with soft, pale fur on the inside. I’ve been wanting such a hat ever since this dream, and looking everywhere for one. It’s been a challenge because I refuse to buy one new — I don’t buy new leather, and anyway they’re too expensive. So I was delighted to find a very similar hat today.

This one is Swiss, and not leather, but some bluish material (wool maybe?). It is, however, exactly the right shape and style. Here it is:

hat1

hat2

If you think I look ridiculous, well, yeah, I do. I need the right goggles. Like Amelia Earhart’s, for instance:

amelia

The cameras, by the way, were five dollars each, and the hat was seven. Score.

7 Comments

  1. Tyler said,

    Sweet find bo! and thanks for the tree-listening idea =)

  2. Daisy said,

    : )

  3. Tyler said,

    +)

  4. Daran said,

    The second picture of you looks like a mannequin.

  5. Daisy said,

    Huh! I don’t see it, but you may be right.

  6. In Which this Blogger Encounters The World’s Most Beautiful Machine « Our Descent Into Madness said,

    […] I found these great cameras. And now something so much better. So. Much. […]

  7. Hugo said,

    That Fujica canera may not be broken. It may just need batteries to work. I just got one and it doesn’t wind or shoot without batteries or film. You may have scored a hat-trick! (hat joke, get it?…)

    Good luck!

Comments are closed.

