Our Modest Blog Stats, 1 1/2 Years In

January 22, 2008 at 6:16 pm (80 Proof, administrative business, neat things)

We passed 100,000 total hits this week and I didn’t notice! I’d been meaning to post about that when it happens. I think it’s an important landmark. At this moment we’re just under 103,000.

Right now, Our Descent Into Madness has 1,367 posts, 2,123 comments, and 62 categories. Akismet has caught 22,770 spam comments over the course of its life. It has an authority of 53. It is the first result for a Google search of its name.

It gets more than 3000 views each week, up from about 1000 three months ago. It got 13,508 views last month, compared to just 429 in its first month of existence.

Our Descent Into Madness is 18 months old.

12 Comments

  1. moonbeammcqueen said,

    Happy 1.5 bloggaversary!

  2. Miragh said,

    Well deserved hits.

  3. Steph said,

    Congratulations!

    :)

  4. Daisy said,

    Hey, thanks everybody!

  5. Emily said,

    Awww :)

  6. Tyler said,

    Do you guys/girls have any tips for the beginning blogger? What keeps you going? How do you make time to write so many posts? Do you have a strict regiment of replacing one of your meals with blogging?

  7. Tyler said,

    Good luck on your exams. When you get a chance, please share your secret. Thanks.

  8. Daisy said,

    Hey Tyler!

    Thanks, and sorry for the lack of response.

    I think the only thing that keeps us going is, well, a desire a to keep going. As for what to do as a beginning blogger, the simplest thing is to comment and participate on other blogs — that’s how you make friends and allies, and how readers find you.

    Good luck! : )

  9. Tyler said,

    Hmmm thanks for the response. One more question if you don’t mind:

    How do you keep track of all the cool stuff you want to write about? Do you have a spreadsheet where you put notes and links and stuff? or a ubernotepad?

    I’m currently just throwing links into a draft post in the WP backend.

  10. Emily said,

    Tyler, usually I blog it right away, but if I feel I’ll need a longer amount of time to do so than I have, or just don’t feel like it right then, I bookmark it. If more than five days or so pass and I still haven’t blogged it, I delete it from my bookmarks list. But keeping an ubernotepad sounds like an excellent method as well, haha.

    I wish you luck with your blog, I’ve added it to my newsfeed and have really enjoyed it so far!

  11. Tyler said,

    Oh my god you guys rock!

  12. Emily said,

    Heh, thanks Tyler!

Comments are closed.

