Who Would You Rather Have A Beer With?

January 9, 2008 at 7:00 pm (feminism, politics)

I think it’s time we all considered this pressing question. Not to determine who to vote for, of course.

I would love to have a beer with Hillary Clinton.

The other major(ish) candidates each disqualify themselves pretty immediately.

I’ve already met Bill Richardson. He’s a jerk and a slime-ball. A gifted negotiator, to be sure, but I hope never to encounter him again.

I couldn’t be in the same room as John Edwards without punching him for the cheap sexist shot he took at Clinton earlier this week. I like his policies, but he gets on my nerves, and I’m really pissed about that comment.

Barack Obama might be the best president out of the front-runners, but there is no doubt in my mind that between the beer and the “hope-mongering,” I would throw up.

Clinton, on the other hand, I would like to meet. I’d like to ask her about her experiences as a woman in politics. I’d like to ask her about feminism. I’d like to apologize to her for the inexcusable shit she’s getting from our poor excuse for a media.

And then, of course, I’d have to tell her that she doesn’t have my vote.

Anyone else care to weigh in?

7 Comments

  1. Emily said,

    Also, one of our friends (you know who you are) likely to be present would totally try to make out with Barack Obama. And we wouldn’t want that…

  2. Daisy said,

    Hahahaha

    Actually, you know… We might want that. It would give us some leverage. Especially if it were to happen soon, so she’d still be underage.

  3. Jamelle said,

    Joe Biden.

    I mean, I don’t support the guy, but he definitely seems like someone you could kick back and have a Blue Moon with.

  4. Miragh said,

    Huckabee, definitely. I’d first listen to his religious propaganda, empty my beer quietly and then have a good ol’ bar brawl. His comments are outrageous and I find myself gnawing at chairs.

    Might I ask you why you wouldn’t vote for Hillary tho? I mean by all the charisma Obama might have – I’d love to see the first female US-president.

    I know she counts as a part of the system, the very system that stands for negligence, corruption, graft and phenomenal opacity. Despite the fact that she counts as a member of the 68-generation (which in Europe are mostly gone now -> Toni Blair (and Brown is struggling), Gehard Schröder, etc) I seriously love the idea of President Hillary Clinton. Although I admit, it’s kinda repetitive. Bush Senior, Clinton, Bush Junior, Clinton. Hrm…

  5. Justin said,

    Gravel. No inclination to vote for him, but just from that campaign spot, I’d like to know what makes him tick.

  6. Emily said,

    Ohhh Mike Gravel! Of course! I second that.

  7. Daisy said,

    Hi Miragh,

    Might I ask you why you wouldn’t vote for Hillary tho? I mean by all the charisma Obama might have – I’d love to see the first female US-president.

    I would love to, too, but…

    I know she counts as a part of the system, the very system that stands for negligence, corruption, graft and phenomenal opacity.

    That’s it right there.

Comments are closed.

