Eating Tofu In The End Times

January 8, 2008 at 12:46 pm (neat things) (, )

From Boing Boing, check out these tips for making your very own vegetarian survival kit

3. My basics for the car and work are canned beans and bean-based soups, tetrapak soup (Imagine), individual packs of soymilk, vegan (Clif) energy bars and crackers. SELECT LOW-SODIUM ITEMS, AS YOUR DIET MAY CONSIST ENTIRELY OF THESE FOODS. Since you may not have access to fresh fruit or vegetables for a while, also keep some vitamins or (my choice) Emergen-C packets on hand. I also keep a small bottle of spirits (vodka, brandy, etc.). Sometimes it’s just what you (or others) need to relax–and it can be used as an antiseptic.
4. Plenty of water.

Most of the information is just general disaster stuff, for hurricanes specifically, that apply to people across the food spectrum. Definitely worth a read.

The first list of suggestions (they’re sent in by readers) is called “Be ready for the Apocalypse.” As much as I never want to eat meat again, I’ve gotta say, if it’s really the end of the world, I don’t think I’ll be so picky.

3 Comments

  1. Justin said,

    Good call. I think when it comes down to it, anyone would eat the person with the short straw, and who’d want to dodge hypocrisy charges then?

  2. Daisy said,

    My thoughts exactly Justin.

  3. Emily said,

    Hahah, Justin, that made me laugh out loud.

Comments are closed.

