Who are you and what have you done with my movement? (From Anne Frank to gastropods, from feminism to feminism.)

January 6, 2008 at 3:42 pm (feminism, racism) ()

pins

Anne Frank and a snail, two from my latest batch of pins.

I’ve experiencing some strange, sweeping changes in my attitudes toward the blogosphere, just in the last week or three. Certain feminist bloggers have started grossing me out. I’ve dropped some of the oldest members of my feed subscription, and a good handful are hanging on by just a thread.

As I’ve wondered to Emily, I’m not sure whether we (for she’s had a similar experience) just made a sudden leap in our evolving understandings of racism, classism, and sexism, rendering many of the more… Shall we say conventional* bloggers obsolete, or whether the blogosphere itself has taken a sudden turn.

Without warning, many old favorites now look to me like willfully ignorant incorrigible asshats (as they would say), and I’m enjoying conversations in places I never thought I’d want to go.

So have some other people gotten exponentially stupider, or did I get smarter somehow? I don’t know. But whatever happened, I’m pissed about it.

Who are you people and what have you done with my movement?

* Or perhaps conventional isn’t the word. Maybe the word is racist. Or maybe it’s capitalist. Maybe the word I’m looking for is bullshit.

Well. Others have said it far, far better than I can.

4 Comments

  1. zombie z said,

    I’m with you…

    I hate to critcize people I feel like should be “on my side,” but as my interests become more specific (size acceptance, race & classism), I see a lot of room from improvement with blogs like feministing, which just read as……fluffy.

    I know this post wasn’t *just* about Valenti, but I’ve just gotten started on FFF, and I’m really rather disappointed. It should be a win for blogging & feminism, but I’m only a few pages in and already rolled my eyes a lot.

    Perhaps I will check your feed and steal some for my blogroll. :)

  2. Daisy said,

    Hi zombie!

    It’s not just about Valenti, but whoo boy, is she ever an instigator for a lot of it…

  3. moonbeammcqueen said,

    Okay, I have nothing to say about the feminist blogs. But the pins are fantastic! You should be selling these!

  4. Daisy said,

    Thank you! I think I like them too much to part with them for now, but maybe at some point.

Comments are closed.

