Proclamations (The Struggle)

December 18, 2007 at 3:10 pm (administrative business, proclamations)

I’ve added a new category, proclamations, and placed the appropriate posts into it.

I like to talk a lot about the fact that the word Israel means “one who struggles with God.” What this means to me is that being a Jew isn’t really about accepting an orthodoxy or even an orthopraxis; it’s about undertaking the struggle with God. This struggle is tikkun olam — the constant obligation to make the world a better place. It is the struggle see, understand, and love the world as it is. It is the struggle to see, understand, and love people, including yourself, and they are. It is the struggle to love your neighbor, the struggle to learn, the struggle to survive.

The proclamations category is the living archive of my struggles. It’s a relief for me to have all these posts tied together, to get them into one place. Something of an evolution occurs from the earliest of them to the most recent, which makes me very glad.

