The Ice Caps May Be Gone By 2012

December 14, 2007 at 3:34 pm (frightening things) (, )

Okay, everybody, I’m just going to come right out and say that Emily and I grew up in Santa Fe, NM. By which I mean that we’ve been steeped since early childhood in predictions that the world will end in 2012. End, or enter a entirely new era, with a radically different global consciousness. Not that either of us believes this stuff. Really.

On to the topic of this post. We last blogged about arctic melting projections less than five months ago. I repeat, less than five months. At that time, the forecast said the ice caps might be gone as soon as 2030. That number, less than 25 years away, was shocking and scary.

In case you haven’t heard yet, I am here to bring you the revised estimate (with a hit tip to our friend Anya): 2012.

2 0 1 2!

That’s in five years. FIVE. GAH.

3 Comments

  1. Emily said,

    “Okay, everybody, I’m just going to come right out and say that Emily and I grew up in Santa Fe, NM. By which I mean that we’ve been steeped since early childhood in predictions that the world will end in 2012.”

    Well, I guess it’s about time we came clean with our readers. Heh.

  2. fitnessfortheoccasion said,

    Huzzah! Waterworld in just five years. Dibs on Mt. Everest.

  3. Daisy said,

    Hahaha

Comments are closed.

