Snakeface: The Church of Hate

December 9, 2007 at 1:33 pm (LGBT, movies/video/clips, stupidity) ()

From Pharyngula, check out this brief documentary: The Church of Hate. Appropriately, it’s about professional queer-hater Fred Phelps, and his “congregation” (i.e. large immediate family). A brave fellow by the name of Philip Bloom wore a hidden camera down into the belly of the beast. Looking at the Wikipedia entry I just linked, it appears he also makes his life hating Jews and the Irish, which I think is sort of hilarious, as a queer half-Irish Jew.

My dad told me a joke once. Two rabbis sit together on a bench every day and read The New York Times. One day, one of the rabbis is reading a neo-Nazi newspaper instead. The other rabbi says, “What are you doing! Why are you reading that filth?” His friend replies, “Look, I read the paper, and Israel is doing terrible things, and people hate us. I read this paper and we rule the world!”

This is a lot like that.

Fags control every level of society? Really?? Sweet!

Mr. Phelps is a snakeface. By which I mean he has the face of a snake, sort of like how I imagined Voldemort would look. Nothing against snakes, though. They were at one time a goddess symbol associated with nature and the life cycle, which is of course why they got so demonized by reactionary patriarchal culture/religion. But that’s beside the point — I’m convinced Mr. Phelps has developed his snakeface after years of being absolutely consumed by a hatred so deep, so strange, so irrational it has actually changed his bone-structure.

I hope all fifty-four of those little kids will be alright. One of them is named Jael, which is a Hebrew named pronounced yah-el; weirdly though, they’ve chosen to pronounce it as “jail.” Huh.

Enjoy.

2 Comments

  1. Emily said,

    “Mr. Phelps is a snakeface. By which I mean he has the face of a snake, sort of like how I imagined Voldemort would look. Nothing against snakes, though. They were at one time a goddess symbol associated with nature and the life cycle, which is of course why they got so demonized by reactionary patriarchal culture/religion. But that’s beside the point — I’m convinced Mr. Phelps has developed his snakeface after years of being absolutely consumed by a hatred so deep, so strange, so irrational it has actually changed his bone-structure.”

    Okay, I know the reaction I had to this probably wasn’t quite appropriate, but….HAHAHAHAHAHA!

  2. Daisy said,

    Hahahaha

    I’m really glad you had that reaction, because I was laughing really hard while I was writing that, despite the fact that it’s completely true, hahaha

Comments are closed.

