The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

November 28, 2007 at 7:30 pm (books, movies/video/clips, neat things)

It’s a rare occasion when I think the movie version of a book I’ve read looks as good as, if not better than, the original work itself. But after attending a pre-opening movie teaser of sorts with the film director Julian Schnabel and Lou Reed present (he worked closely with the director on the soundtrack–which really sounded excellent and matched the footage perfectly, from what I was able to witness), I long to see the movie even more than I remember enjoying the book (and I did enjoy it quite a lot).

The trailer:

The story is a memoir by Jean-Dominique Bauby, a successful magazine editor who suffered a massive stroke in his middle age and was paralyzed with locked-in syndrome. He could move only his left eyelid and, if I remember correctly, the only sensation he could feel was pain. A method of communication was developed by which his nurse would recite the alphabet; not in the usual order of letters but in the order of letters most frequently used in the French language, and Bauby would blink once when she spoke the letter he wished to use. She would then record his construction of sentences, letters to his family, and eventually, a book. He died ten days after the book was published.

Though I only got to see about ten minutes of the movie, I was completely absorbed in the aesthetic, which looked as beautiful and flowing and upsetting and sweet as the original work read. Happily, the movie is coming to theaters near me in just a few days. I doubt I’ll be disappointed and hopefully, if any of you see it, you won’t be either.

3 Comments

  1. Daisy said,

    “His life CHANGED IN THE BLINK OF AN EYE.”

    Hahah

  2. Emily said,

    Yeah, okay, so that was bad… hahah.

  3. Daisy said,

    Haha, I liked that part.

    And you’re right, it definitely looks good, despite my (irrational) feelings about the story/character/book.

Comments are closed.

