Seven Factoids (Actually, 3 1/2)

November 26, 2007 at 8:05 pm (neat things)

We’ve been tagged by Life With Buck. These are the rules:

1) Link to the person that tagged you, and post the rules on your blog.
2) Share 7 facts about yourself.
3) Tag 7 random people at the end of your post, and include links to their blogs.
4) Let each person know that they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

I’m only tagging three people: Fitness For The Occasion, Cassie (Political Teen Tidbits), and katkmeanders. Also, since I’m only half Our Descent Into Madness, I’m only doing 3 1/2 factoids. Ha.

1. Instead of saying “motherfucker” like Life With Buck, I say, “faahhkk” at least a half dozen times a day. I spell it that way because I stretch it out to a solid seven seconds, and because of the way I pronounce the vowel — most people say “fuck” so that the “u” sounds like the “o” in almond; in this case, the “u” sounds like the “a” in almond. Also, I say it more like I’m squawking bird than a frustrated human. Our friend Brenden does this, too. I think it originated on one strange night when Emily couldn’t stop cawing, “Whaahht the faahhkk does THAT mean?”

2. I have just under two weeks left to my semester, and more than a month for break. Hooray!

3. Today I went with a class to an exhibition at the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum called Georgia O’Keeffe and the Women of the Stieglitz Circle, featuring a bunch of women artists that Alfred Stieglitz promoted, including, much to my surprise, Pamela Coleman Smith. Smith drew the Rider-Waite-Smith Tarot deck — by far the most common deck in the US (and elsewhere, though not everywhere) — including, of course, the thirteenth card of the major arcana. Put another way, she drew my tattoo. So it was a lot of fun to just bump into her work like that.

And a half: I just realized that this human is probably my uncle.

13 Comments

  1. Life With Buck said,

    Wow, I was afraid to even tell you I’d tagged you, I know you guys are busy. Your 3 1/2 facts are excellent, and the Pamela Coleman Smith was very cool because I have that deck! Love your tattoo, by the way. And I like your uncle’s blog, it’s interesting.

  2. Daisy said,

    Oh, we’re never too busy for you, LWB. : )

    And regarding the deck: awesome. I recently got my hands on a copy of Waite’s Pictorial Key to the Tarot (which I thought was out of print — it’s not). It’s definitely worth having if you’re a fan of the deck.

  3. Emily said,

    Oh, fun! Here’s 3 and 1/2 factoids from me:

    1. It’s time I came clean with my readers (that’s you, LWB). I am an anti-naked mole rat bigot. This was not always so–when I was very young, my family spent a lot of time in San Diego and we’d regularly visit the San Diego zoo (in utero, even. I just learned this weekend that that’s where my mom went into labor with me).

    I never wanted to move past the entrance of the zoo, where there was a glass terrarium filled with the pink, writhing creatures endlessly nesting and silently scurrying around on top of each other. My favorite t-shirt was one with a close-up picture of a naked mole rat’s face on it bought from the zoo’s store, and I loved the animals.

    But just a few months ago I had this sudden, extreme urge to do a google image search of my childhood animal of choice and was so disturbed by what I saw, that now their image haunts my dreams and now, sometimes when/if I shave any parts of my body, I feel sort of like one, and identify with them at least a little bit on some sort of repressed and masochistic level of my conscience.

    2. I’m excited for the classes I’m taking next semester. They are titled: Social Implications of New Technologies, A Transnational History of Fascism, Writing the Essay: The Writing of Disaster, and–get this–Evil in the 20th Century. Yesss.

    3. I have a very real physical and psychological addiction to Chapstick. I own at least two sticks at all times, always have one on me, and apply it about once every half hour when I’m home. In the more humid NY climate, this number is reduced to about once every 40 minutes.

    And a half: I can pick my nose with my tongue.

  4. Daisy said,

    Hahaha

    I am going to laugh so hard if, having become a vegetarian for the reasons you did, you stop shaving for naked mole rat reasons instead of feminist reasons.

  5. Emily said,

    Hahaha, well, start laughing….

  6. Daisy said,

    Hahahah

  7. katkmeanders said,

    Eeek! Ok, I’ll play, but I’ll have to ponder what to post before I do. (I’m having to be rather canny online, if you’ve sensed I’m being open yet keeping the reader at “arm’s length” you’re right. I’ve got a dorment stalker you see. S’ok, I’m not going to let him win, so I’ll post, I just gotta think first. *smile*)

  8. Emily said,

    Oh, gosh, well…don’t risk your safety :/

  9. katkmeanders said,

    Tis done!

  10. katkmeanders said,

    (All of those are things he wouldn’t know about me, it’s been nearly a decade since he got reliable information about me.)

  11. fitnessfortheoccasion said,

    Hey! Hmmm.. I’ll have to think a bit about what I want to post…

    Heh. Mole Rat Feminists….

  12. Seven Factoids « Fitness for the Occasion said,

    […] Posted on December 1, 2007 by fitnessfortheoccasion I’ve been tagged!  (By Our Descent Into Madness): These are the […]

  13. Idetrorce said,

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

Comments are closed.

