In Which All Anti-Fat Bigotry Is Disproven With One Factual Sentence

November 8, 2007 at 2:16 pm (Uncategorized) (, )

From Boing Boing: Overweight people have a lower death rate than people of a so called normal weight. Overweight people also have a lower death rate than those who are underweight or obese.

Some who studied the relation between weight and health said the nation might want to reconsider what are ideal weights.

“If we use the criteria of mortality, then the term ‘overweight’ is a misnomer,” said Daniel McGee, professor of statistics at Florida State University.

“I believe the data,” said Dr. Elizabeth Barrett-Connor, a professor of family and preventive medicine at the University of California, San Diego. A body mass index of 25 to 30, the so-called overweight range, “may be optimal,” she said.

3 Comments

  1. katkmeanders said,

    For me, at five feet four inches tall, my personal ideal weight is 140 pounds. I have arthritis, but have also fought to keep my weight up when young and depressed so 140 pounds is right for me. If I were as athletic as in my youth that might go down to 128 pounds for distance running. I know I am overweight right now without the scale telling me because my joints ache after I go walking, and they shouldn’t. I could stand to lose 30 pounds (at least) to help my poor knee. I know better than to do weird crash diets though, it will be gradual and healthy. I don’t want to mess up my system by making it think it is starving.

  2. Daisy said,

    I am all for healthy choices that make people feel better. Definitely the way to go.

  3. I’m a Bearded Lady! « Fitness for the Occasion said,

    […] it to Karolchyk to show that a woman’s proper concern is being a sex object, and healthy weight(Our Descent) aside, must become super skinny to snag a “hubby”.  It also pigeonholes men into cock […]

Comments are closed.

