“Glamming Up the Graveyard”

October 16, 2007 at 2:14 pm (funny things, neat things) ()

Finally, the funeral industry has begun to market coffins according to each consumer’s individuality (ha). I am rather intrigued by this one, by Ecopod, which is made entirely of recycled paper- but think my first choice circumstance is still to have my remains composted to nourish a “living memorial,” which, I learned from Mary Roach’s Stiff, is legal in Sweden.

Also of interest are Outhouse Charlie’s Tradin’ Post and Coffin Company, which allows you to custom design and decorate your own coffin and other funerary things, and Vidstone.com. Video devices installed into tombstones? Hmm.

Via Shakesville.

2 Comments

  1. Life With Buck said,

    I wrote newspaper obituaries for ten years, so the funeral industry is something that really gets me on a soap box. The disgraceful ripping off of people when they are at their most vulnerable makes me furious. I went to the Vidstone link and watched their maudlin demo tape, and they’re just as bad as undertakers with their “deluxe airtight” coffins. I suppose there’s an audience for such video things, but the “bereaved” shouldn’t be allowed to purchase something like that for at least a whole year (or more) after their loved one has died. People are usually in such pain they’ll go along with anything at that point.

    I learned this the sleazy way, when I was a young reporter and my editor wanted me to call people who’d just had a family member killed or murdered, to “get a quote.” I was terrified to disturb them, and my editor said, “No, no, they love talking about the person. You’ll see, you won’t be able to shut them up.” And of course she was right, because at that moment they are in such grief they just want you to hear about what a great person they’ve lost.

    My point, and I do have one, is that the funeral industry figured this out a long time ago. They keep coming up with stupid shit to take advantage of people in pain. They need to be stopped.

  2. Emily said,

    Definitely an important aspect to consider. Thank you.

Comments are closed.

