The Sensuous Woman

September 28, 2007 at 11:45 pm (amazing things, art, funny things, sex) ()

So, I just returned from seeing The Sensuous Woman, a show organized by the always wonderful and hilarious Margaret Cho. The line-up was impressive, and I was happy to see some old favorites and also make some new ones. And I had my first live experience with burlesque performance. It was a night of laughs and nipple tassles, and by the end I actually had a cramp in my side from laughing so hard and was also fighting back tears (it was so overwhelming). Let me just say this about that: I saw more of Margaret Cho than I ever dreamed I would, and I watched Kelly (the internet rock star of Shoes and Let Me Borrow That Top fame) sing along to a Spanish garage band version of Shoes. No, I don’t even know what that means either, and I was there. And, dammit, this ridiculous song is stuck in my head-

Yes, he was one of the performers. And after all of that, I paid a small visit to the NY neo-futurists who managed to pull off 30 plays in 60 minutes.

All of which is to say that the inside of my head right now looks a lot like the last few scenes of this new Kelly video where everything escalates into total chaos.

…I’m going to bed.

5 Comments

  1. Life With Buck said,

    Oh. My. God. That Kelly video is hilarious, I love it. I’m now going to send it to all of my children. And where can I get a top like that? I want one.

  2. Emily said,

    You can get one on Liam Sullivan’s website:

    http://www.liamshow.com/shop.htm

    Haha!

  3. Daisy said,

    Hahahahah

    This is the funniest post you’ve ever written.

  4. Life With Buck said,

    Okay, I borrowed from you guys again, this time with the Kelly video. I totally gave you credit, and I’m gonna stop this. I’ve seen Kelly videos before and loved them, but this particular one is just too damn funny and I can’t get the song out of my head.

    Like I said, I will stop taking your videos and start finding my own. But this one is just too much . . .

  5. Emily said,

    Oh please, it’s totally fine. Use what you find here and link to us whenever you want!

Comments are closed.

