Don’t kill me or I’ll kill you back!

September 24, 2007 at 1:28 pm (frightening things) ()

Doing my reading for political science course I’m taking, I was struck by this quote from bomb-crazy General Thomas Power (what a name!).

Restraint? Why are you so concerned with saving their lives? The whole idea is to kill the bastards. At the end of the war if their are two Americans and one Russian left alive, we win.

Thank you, General Power.

I couldn’t have made a better case against war if I’d tried.

3 Comments

  1. Ed said,

    Of course, if the alternative is 1 left alive and 0 Americans left alive…

  2. Ed said,

    that should be “1 hostile foreigner left alive”

  3. Daisy said,

    I think the alternative would be something more like, some Americans left, and all the Russians. Power is talking about the bomb during the Cold War — so they could bomb us and kill a lot of us, in which case we’d bomb back, then they’d bomb back, etc

    As opposed to ideally, no bombs at all or, less ideally, one bomb total, no retaliatory bombs.

Comments are closed.

