Why can’t bell hooks think more about the feelings of white men?

September 10, 2007 at 11:36 am (feminism, racism, sexism, stupidity)

We watched a video in class today of bell hooks commenting on various pop culture situations of the late ’90s, OJ Simpson and Madonna and rap videos and more. As always, she spoke articulately about patriarchy and white supremacy and capitalism.

And some people in my class said they felt the video was biased, too biased for their taste. That they would have liked to hear “some other perspectives.” Fair and balanced, right?

What other perspectives? I asked. Like the perspective that racism is fine?

“No! Oh no! Not at all. But maybe like, a white perspective. Maybe some men’s perspectives.”

So we’re not hearing enough from white men. I’m so fucking sure.

And also, “She focused too much on the negative.”

Right.

To much emphasis on the negative aspects of white supremacy.

Why can’t you talk more about the positive aspects of white supremacy, bell hooks? What gives? It’s almost like you think it’s a global system of oppression or something.

10 Comments

  1. Emily said,

    Ew.

  2. Daisy said,

    I stopped by Elliot’s room today and told him the story and that it reminded me of his class.

    He said, “Please go easy on them.”

  3. Emily said,

    Aw. Tell him I say hi next time you see him.

  4. Daisy said,

    Will do.

    We started talking today about his feelings about teaching, and I suddenly realized, duh, it’s time for Elliot to go to college, too! (To teach, of course.)

  5. ballgame said,

    I don’t think men talk enough about the feelings of men, frankly.

    –ballgame
    “the supportive disagree-er”
    (“the disagreeable supporter?”)

    ;]

  6. Daisy said,

    Hi ballgame!

    I am all for men talking more about the feelings of men. But bell hooks?

    : )

  7. ballgame said,

    Touché.

  8. The Lizard Queen said,

    Oy. Yup. BTDT. A couple of my friends are creative writing profs (and that’s what I’m working toward myself), and they deal with this stuff all the time. Like, if you try to expand the canon, have students read things by writers of color, by queer writers — hell, even just by white women — then it’s unbalanced, and they ask for more of the dominant perspective. By trying to be more widely inclusive, profs and instructors open themselves up to accusations of prejudice. Like you said, as if we’re not hearing enough from white men. *sigh*

  9. Bianca Reagan said,

    I would have been yelling, and it would not have been pretty. It wouldn’t have even been coherent at first. But then I’d start using my words and pointing my finger. And those people would feel like the fools that they were. God forbid that the white male perspective not be considered at one point in the history of the world. I’m yelling right now and there is no one else in my room. I wasn’t even there, and I’m angry. :(

  10. Daisy said,

    Hi Bianca! Please don’t be upset. I already had a fully appropriate reaction, and it was my bad experience.

    They’re a bunch of ignorant fools, but on the bright side, they’ve all just started college. They may be very different people by the time they graduate.

    You and I, and Emily, and the Lizard Queen, and the folks at Feministing, and bell hooks all stand together against that bullshit.

Comments are closed.

