First greetings from the city.

August 22, 2007 at 3:19 pm (art, books) ()

I arrived safely in New York just this Monday, and am dangerously overwhelmed (in a good way). Already I have located a book store that sells used books outside for just a dollar each, started and finished Fun Home by Alison Bechdel (recommended), visited with various family members and friends, and passed by a building that serves as a stationary advertisement for Meow Mix cat food and offers “acatemy” classes on how to think like a feline. I have plans in the next few days to see the Body exhibit, which I’m nervous about, and to visit the Brooklyn Museum, center of feminist art. I have plans in the next few months to see performances by bands like The Mountain Goats and The Blow. And, of course, I’m looking forward to hanging out at Pug Hill on a regular basis, where I will inevitably make lots of flat faced doggy friends.

I’ve also learned which pairs of my shoes are appropriate for walking which distances, accepted that the level of humidity here has rendered my hair permanently wavy and frizzy, surrendered to the fact that I’m going to freeze my ass off all winter, and had my day ruined by an older skeezy predatory asshole who obviously does not believe I should be able to excercise my right to walk around in public with breasts and not be harassed.

Orientation starts tomorrow, and lasts through next week. I’ll update throughout if I have the time.

It’s going to be quite the year.

:)

