Some people are good, some are bad, and some are something else altogether.

August 18, 2007 at 3:11 pm (frightening things) (, )

I’m one of those people who read blogs with a minimum of four tabs open at once, so it’s not uncommon for me to be reading two or three posts at the sme time. Today, the comparison was truly striking.

Item one: From Pandagon, this is what religion is to some people. Here are some videos. In the first one, silent teenagers hold signs with statistics. Some of them are truly disturbing: “1 in 10 of us has been raped.” And some are… In a completely different vein. “1/2 of us are NO LONGER virgins.” What planet do you have to be on to consider those things comparable? Who do you have to be to think that the abusive degradation and victimization of one person by another is tragically related to loving, consensual, premarital sex? (Tangent: And while we’re at it, let’s stop using the word “premarital.” My sex may be premarital — I’d like to get married at some point — but what is “premarital” at all about the sex of people who have no interest in ever getting married (that is, most of my friends, who have lots and lots of loving, respectful, unmarried-but-in-no-way-premarital sex)? Emily, any ideas about a better word to use?). Anyway. The footage speaks for itself.

Item two: This is what religion is to me.

Soldiers against sex in the hateful army of Our Lord and Savior Straight White Rich Male Able-Bodied Jesus. People who think the Torah tells us to respect the planet by being energy efficient and conserving resources. Two sides of the same coin?

We can all agree the world is a mess. Somehow we have very, very different ideas about what the problems actually are.

5 Comments

  1. Emily said,

    I hate the word “premarital” when referring to sex, too. It reminds me of that politician in…where, I can’t remember…middle america somewhere…who referred to women who weren’t pregnant as pre-pregnancy, or something.

    But, no, I haven’t the slightest idea about a word that could effectively be used in its place.
    I’ll have to keep thinking about it.

  2. Daisy said,

    It’s a lot like the “pre-pregnancy” thing. The phrase “sex outside of marriage” works okay, but doesn’t quite convey that we’re not talking about infidelity. “Unmarried sex,” maybe?

    I’ll keep thinking about it too.

  3. Emily said,

    “Unmarried sex” could work. It’s annoying to have to reference marriage at all, but sort of necessary to get across the same point, I guess. It’s much better than “premarital,” anyway.

  4. Daisy said,

    Yeah, it is annoying. Marriage is nothing short of a cultural obsession. You know my orientation regarding commitment and monogamy, but even I’m starting to think this whole marriage situation is just fucking bizarre.

  5. MommaSteph said,

    I like the Japanese minister of health who referred to women as “baby-making robots”.

    The whole “prepregnancy” hoo-hah actually didn’t bother me because so many pregnancies are unplanned. Public health officials have their own agendas, no big surprise.

Comments are closed.

