Next We Know, Toddlers Will be Running for President

August 7, 2007 at 12:03 am (environment, neat things) (, , )

Okay, so I know that the fact that 8-year-old Jaide Ramirez-Jennings set up a non-profit while still in kindergarten (!), Kids in Care of Kids (KICK), is probably pretty awesome…but I can’t help feeling a little creeped out, and, I must admit, annoyed. It’s the same feeling I get while sitting on the ski lift wondering if I’ll be able to get off without falling all over my snowboard and the strangers riding next to me and then seeing kids under two feet tall racing underneath me and doing flips and stuff.

I know, I know, I’m just bitter because I have yet to do something so cool and I’m, you know, a decade or so older than this girl (I thought I was young for this sort of activism, too). I guess I should just start taking tips and stop trying to measure up to these kids.

From Treehugger:

After seeing Yahoo!’s Be a Better Planet campaign she took on the task of encouraging people in Topeka, Kansas to use reusable shopping bags at the grocery store… And after her grandmother contacted them to see if they could help jumpstart her campaign they generously (but not surprisingly) donated 900 purple canvas shopping bags as part of their Purple Acts of Kindness program. Now she’s aiming to sell them for $5 a piece at local supermarkets to raise money for other organizations that preserve the environment and improve the lives of kids, including groups like Keep America Beautiful, the Topeka School Fund, and the American Heart Association.

Cool.

