Studying religion will cure you of your religion.

July 24, 2007 at 5:10 pm (injustice) ()

Via Pandagon, check out this article about a devoutly religious reporter who became an atheist after years of looking at the hard facts about religious institutions, which are, of course, every bit as fallible, misguided, guilty, and corrupt as every other human institution.

I met with my former Presbyterian pastor, John Huffman, and told him what I was feeling. I asked him if I could e-mail him some tough questions about Christianity and faith and get his answers. He agreed without hesitation.

The questions that I thought I had come to peace with started to bubble up again. Why do bad things happen to good people? Why does God get credit for answered prayers but no blame for unanswered ones? Why do we believe in the miraculous healing power of God when he’s never been able to regenerate a limb or heal a severed spinal chord?

In one e-mail, I asked John, who had lost a daughter to cancer, why an atheist businessman prospers and the child of devout Christian parents dies. Why would a loving God make this impossible for us to understand?

Interesting stuff.

Edit! I initially linked to the wrong Pandagon article. All fixed.

