(Never) Again

July 18, 2007 at 11:55 am (books, injustice) (, )

This should have been on our reading list ages ago, but as I’ve only just finished it, I’ve only just added Maus: A Survivor’s Tale, by Art Spiegelman. And I’ve also added The Diary of Anne Frank. Because, as I have been reminded today, there do exist persons with souls so seriously malformed they would happily rebuild the crematoria, and reopen the mass graves, and smile as they ciphered in the Zyklon B, and absolutely desecrate themselves and their children and you and me and our families and G-d and everything that has ever been good. They would brutally rape the fact of life itself. They would do all this with their own perverted form of joy (joyless selfish hateful malice masquerading as happiness), because they are number than numb and have learned nothing. They have learned exactly nothing. So I would like to know, how many people have to die before they will learn something? How many millions? Not six, not ten. Twenty million? A hundred million? A billion? How many?

