Some new (to us) books, and a movie.

July 14, 2007 at 11:01 am (80 Proof, books)

I’d like to call attention to some post-Belize additions to our required reading and viewing lists.

Firstly, Cunt, by Inga Muscio, which actually caused the word “cunt” to enter my vocabulary (!!), not to mention causing me to permanently replace “vulva” with the far more accurate term “anatomical jewel.”

Secondly, an anthology called Colonize This!, in which young women of color discuss current feminism. Emily very effectively described it when she said (to paraphrase), “A lot of the essays were really similar, but at least I knew the message was definitely going to sink in.”

And lastly, one movie, This Film Is Not Yet Rated. Very highly recommended. The MPAA is one of my least favorite organizations ever.

