Guys and Dolls

July 11, 2007 at 1:59 pm (frightening things, sexism) ()

If you’ve got the heart for it, here’s a short documentary about guys in, um, relationships with “real dolls.” There’s apparently a whole community of them that I’ve been (blissfully) unaware of. I don’t even recommend it, totally, because it’s so disturbing…but leading others to witness things that cause me disturbance is usually how I get over it.

It’s here if you want to watch it.

Be warned. The whole thing is really upsetting; it makes my stomach and head hurt. It’s equally depressing and frightening. I agree with Jessica of Feministing when she writes that “Fucking a sex toy is fine by me. Calling it your girlfriend and wishing that real women were like dolls (in that they can’t move, talk, etc) is not.”

3 Comments

  1. Devon said,

    well i guess it is really gross but the fact is those lowlifes need a real woman not some doll pretending it is real

  2. Amber Swanson’s Real Doll Project « Our Descent Into Madness said,

    […] a previous show examining young womens’ rejection of feminism. Her current project involves a Real Doll, which she had made to look as much like her as possible given the limited body types available for […]

  3. Lars and the Real Girl « Our Descent Into Madness said,

    […] 19th, 2007 at 9:58 am (patriarchy/sexism, frightening things) After watching this, I thought I never wanted to watch anything having to do with Real Dolls ever again. But I just […]

Comments are closed.

